• TehPers@beehaw.org
      link
      fedilink
      English
      arrow-up
      ·
      edit-2
      10 months ago

If you run Miri on your code (Tools -> Miri in the Playground), it actually seems to complain about UB. I’m not experienced enough with unsafe rust to translate that error message to something meaningful though.

Edit: Wait, that’s the while_here_it_isnt method. I’m clearly tired…

• soulsource
        link
        fedilink
        arrow-up
        ·
        10 months ago

Until yesterday I wouldn’t have expected either to be sane. But then I got the reply above, that aliasing pointers is fine. The playground link is how I interpreted that statement.

So, if my previous intuition was correct, how is https://discuss.tchncs.de/comment/2544085 to be interpreted?

• TehPers@beehaw.org
          link
          fedilink
          English
          arrow-up
          ·
          edit-2
          10 months ago

Edit: Lemmy decided to completely butcher my comment, so I’ve replaced all the ampersands with %. Sorry, this will look a bit funny.

You (and they) are right that aliasing pointers is fine. I was running Miri on your playground link, and it gave the expected results. I was just too tired to realize that it was saying your failure case (where you did multiple mutable aliasing with borrows) caused UB and that your success case (where you did multiple mutable aliasing with pointers) did not cause UB.