• ruination
    link
    fedilink
    English
    arrow-up
    ·
    10 months ago

To be honest, I only use it for fun. Unless you enjoy tinkering like I do, or you have really low RAM, there’s no reason to use it over glibc. I’m aware that Madaidan also mentioned that it is more secure, but I’m not too knowledgeable on that so I can’t really comment.

• ctr1@fl0w.cc
      link
      fedilink
      English
      arrow-up
      ·
      10 months ago

Ah gotcha, just asking because I’ve never used it before. Good to know that Gentoo supports hardening it

• ruination
        link
        fedilink
        English
        arrow-up
        ·
        10 months ago

Gentoo lets you do basically whatever you want. The whole idea of it is that you make all the decisions in your system, as opposed to how most distros impose their developers’ choices.

• ruination
            link
            fedilink
            English
            arrow-up
            ·
            10 months ago

Really fasttracked my Linux learning experience too. If you’re starting out Linux and are predisposed to masochism like I am, using Gentoo as your first distro really catalysed my understanding of Linux (at the cost of a week’s worth of crying and self-loathing lmao).

• ctr1@fl0w.cc
              link
              fedilink
              English
              arrow-up
              ·
              10 months ago

Totally, props on taking it on as your first distro! Haha, yeah a week of pain sounds about right. My last Gentoo setup took an entire month (off and on), but I was doing something crazy (Qubes-like, every application in its own Gentoo VM, strict SELinux on host and guests)… ended up ditching that because I got comfortable enough with SELinux to write stronger policies for everything important, which is good enough for me.