I ran Manjaro Linux as my daily driver a few years ago but slowly phased it out for Windows for some reason, and I’m finally back using Linux (currently Linux Mint). I gotta say, I don’t know why I ever switched back to Windows. There’s just so much freedom Linux gives you right off the bat that Windows is just plain stubborn about. The final straw for me was a couple weeks ago when Microsoft added a Copilot (Bing AI) Shortcut to my Windows 11 taskbar. They’d already added ads to my start menu and preinstalled a bunch of garbage that should be opt-in, not opt-out, so I was just fed up with it at that point. Plus, Linux is so much more customizable. Been running Mint for about a week and a half now, and honestly, I don’t think I’ll be using Windows much anymore.

• purplemurmel
    link
    fedilink
    arrow-up
    ·
    7 months ago

I just switched back to windows, after using Kubuntu for the past 13 month.

I’m a software dev, I work on a Dell precision 5560 and just got tired of the worst touchpad experience ever, the endless Bluetooth issues, the fact that sleep mode basically does not exist anymore and a bunch of other small things.

On windows I do almost everything in WSL so I still work on Linux, but this way I get a much better desktop experience on my laptop.

• scrion@lemmy.world
      link
      fedilink
      arrow-up
      ·
      7 months ago

I used to be a Windows system developer, think device drivers etc. for what, 20 years? I switched to Linux 18 years ago and never looked back - the whole dev experience is a lot more pleasant, more control, reasonable tools and software installation, proper customization etc.

I believe you didn’t have a Linux problem, you had a problem with hardware manufacturers being fussy about enabling development of proper support for their hardware. Why not look into hardware that is actually readily compatible with Linux? Tuxedo Computers are often recommend, I used to run a Clevo and had a great experience as well.