Hello and welcome to this new community for talking about Kakoune !

I am by no means an expert on kakoune, but I love using it. I created this community, exactly because I am not an expert, and I wanted some place to learn more and talk to other people who like kakoune :))

If you want to ask a question about kakoune, share your kakrc, your favourite plugins or your workflow using kakoune - please do so here :))

If you’re not (yet 😉) using kakoune, you’re also welcome to participate and ask questions :))

• ck_
    link
    fedilink
    English
    arrow-up
    ·
    10 months ago

I have a question about kakoune:

What is kakoune and why should I care :)

• RAMOPM
      link
      fedilink
      English
      arrow-up
      ·
      10 months ago

that is a good question :))

First I just want to say, my intent is not to convert people to using kakoune, perhaps I should have been more clear about that in my posts. My thought with posting in vim and nvim communities is that people already using kakoune might be in those communities, since the text editors are so alike.

with that said, kakoune is a modal text editor running in the terminal. It is inspired by vim, but for me, 3 key points where it defers are

1. selection -> action. Kakuone is based around selections and you always select the text you want to manipulate before manipulating it. In vim, if you want to delete two words, you type d2w. In Kakuone, you type 2Wd. For me, this makes the experience of editing text much more interactive, and if I need to select more complicated text, than just the next 2 words, seeing what text I’ve selected before applying the action, makes it much quicker to readjust the selection, rather than undoing and trying the action again.

2. Piping. I really like piping. In both vim and kakoune, if you want to pipe some text, you have to select it first. I just find selecting text in kakoune much more enjoyable, because it’s built around selection.