• HopFlop
    link
    fedilink
    arrow-up
    ·
    5 months ago

Would I be allowed to build my own house? If so, would I be allowed to sell it? If so, am I forced to sell it at “labour value” or can I choose freely (that would be market value)?

Pricing it at “labour value” would also mean if I’m a bad builder and take a huge amount of time to build it, I’m entitled to more money, right? Or if there were huge amounts of people wanting to move into a home because they need one, is the faster builder payed at best the same as a slow builder that finishes their house 1 year later when nobody needs it anymore?

Market value means that people pay whatever it is worth to them (or don’t buy it). Now, you may argue that surviving is worth indefinite money to a person so let’s assume that we have some very basic accomodation provided by the state if needed.

About that last paragraph: Unequal does not necessarily mean unfair. If I (literally) threw away all my money and then you started looking at only the physical outcome (e.g. the distribution of wealth) without it’s backstory, then you may also come to the conclusion that it’s unfair that I don’t have any money. But the way of acquirement does matter. Not just the end result. Or is it unfair that I don’t have any money after the hypothetical scenario?

• Nevoic@lemm.ee
      link
      fedilink
      arrow-up
      ·
      edit-2
      5 months ago

Would I be allowed to build my own house?

Yup

If so, would I be allowed to sell it?