• PotatoesFall
    link
    fedilink
    arrow-up
    ·
    11 months ago

How long ago was this written? Sure it’s not perfect but you can run a lot of distributions like fedora, ubuntu, opensuse etc etc whatever exactly as described. Maybe this is a joke I didn’t understand lol. But in case it is not:

• No need to use command line if you don’t want to
    • Drivers are installed automatically (okay this might depend on the distro but in OpenSUSE I recall this being possible in a GUI)
    • There is a steam flatpak, and most user apps can be installed through a GUI, often as flatpaks
    • For a user like this, I see no reason to interact with system packages other than choosing when to update.
    • I’m a programmer and even I rarely edit ANYTHING in /etc on my desktop. Sure I edit stuff in ~/.config, but that is not stuff a “normal” user would need to do.

Now sure if you want to start customizing your login screen and this that and the other thing, eventually you will have to run something on the command line. But Windows doesn’t allow much customization beyond changing your desktop background, and pales in comparison to the amount of customization you can do with KDE, all through a GUI

• ErnieBernie10@lemmy.world
      link
      fedilink
      arrow-up
      ·
      edit-2
      11 months ago

What you’re saying is correct but all the things you’re describing are not 100% foolproof. Flatpaks are community maintained and can contain misconfigurations.

Also the sandboxed nature and all these foreign concepts for new users would have a user question why they’re not seeing their folders or why their cursor or theme doesn’t match their system.

These systems are great but they’re not nearly as polished as Windows and Mac.

It’s great for us but Linux has always struggled with any semblance of full polish. I think you’re overestimating the average computer user. Probably Ubuntu based distro’s are still as close as we got to an OS for the regular person.