link
    fedilink
    English
    arrow-up
    arrow-down
    ·
    edit-2
    7 months ago

I am a physicist and truly appreciate the effect of quantum computing on our simulations, but with “real world” I meant proper industrial use. And for that, there are hardly any algorithms known except Shor’s. When the CEO of Deutsche Bank says he will do his bank transactions on a quantum computer, you know the topic is over-hyped.

Edit: A video that explains this by a theoretical physicist working on the foundations of quantum mechanics

• frezik@midwest.social
      link
      fedilink
      English
      arrow-up
      arrow-down
      ·
      7 months ago

You’re still wrong. Quantum computers have use for developing new medications through simulating chemical interactions, and in making logistics more efficient. The hit against encryption is vastly overrated, and may not even be feasible.

• FooBarrington@lemmy.world
      link
      fedilink
      English
      arrow-up
      ·
      7 months ago

I understand that you can’t just translate random algorithms to quantum computers and expect them to run better - but I did link an overview of 5 quantum algorithms that have real world uses, and Shor’s is only one of them.

I don’t consider Sabine Hossenfelder a person worth listening to. She frequently comments on topics she doesn’t know much about/has a very biased view of (e.g. her transphobic video).

• frezik@midwest.social
        link
        fedilink
        English
        arrow-up
        ·
        edit-2
        7 months ago

Yeah, Hossenfelder has had a bad habit of stepping outside of her lane. From what I’ve heard from physicists, she’s questionable even inside her lane.

• Chrobin
          link
          fedilink
          English
          arrow-up
          ·
          7 months ago

She might have strong opinions on particle physics and I do take them with a grain of salt, but I don’t see objectively wrong things in there.

• frezik@midwest.social