• mavu
    link
    fedilink
    arrow-up
    ·
    4 months ago

Should have called them “overhead projector sheets” and pushed them all into utter confusion.

• DillyDaily@lemmy.world
      link
      fedilink
      arrow-up
      ·
      4 months ago

I’m a 32 year old teacher and I want an overhead projector.

A dry erase transparency is much easier to write on than the white board. My macro handwriting is awful, students can barely read what I write on the board. So I always end up writing on a peice of paper on my desk, and I have my phone on a tripod so I can get a “top down shot” of me writing on the paper, then I screen cast that to the smart board.

It works, I can write legibly by writing in a normal size, and then enlarge it for the class to read fairly quickly… Once all the cameras and casting is set up.

But it would be so much easier to just have an overhead projector, a few transparencies and a dry erase marker. Roll it out, plug it in, aim and focus the lens, then I’m done. Plus then if the internet goes out I could still use the board!

• Zink@programming.dev
        link
        fedilink
        arrow-up
        ·
        4 months ago

I bet it would be every bit as good as you think. I had a math teacher back in middle school ~30 years ago who taught EVERY lesson by talking as he wrote things on a transparency on the overhead projector.

We have great tech for that stuff now, but the projector and markers feels very human-compatible in an analog way. Kind of like reading a book I guess.

• milicent_bystandr@lemm.ee
          link
          fedilink
          arrow-up
          arrow-down
          ·
          4 months ago